Closing A Requisition

These instructions should be used for all requisitions for Clinical and Hospital-based positions. They detail how to close a requisition when the Candidate Management functions in UTORecruit are not used.

For all other faculty recruitment, it is best practice to use the candidate management functions to HIRE a candidate within the system.  This permits better institutional reporting and most accurately documents the search process.  We HIGHLY RECOMMEND you follow the instructions for hiring a candidate found here.  If a non-clinical search concludes without a candidate being hired, these instructions should be used to cancel the requisition.

There are a number of reasons why it is important to close all requisitions, even if the position is not filled:

  1. Closing requisitions allows for more accurate reporting of the results of the University's recruitment efforts 
  2. The system does not display inactive requisitions by default.  Your work environment in the system will be less cluttered if inactive requistions are archived
  3. Both the Academic Support Team and System Administrator often view several hundred active positions at any time.  We are better able to help users if there are less active requisitions in the system

To Fill or To Cancel?

There are two options for closing a requisition depending on the circumstances:

1. Manually fill a requisition when someone is hired outside the system (which is the case for all Clinical and Hospital-based positions).  

If you used the candidate management processes please consult the instructions here.

2. A requisition can be cancelled for a number of reasons:

  • The wrong template chosen when the requisition was created
  • The search is cancelled by the search committee
  • The search ended and no one was hired for the position
  • No one applies for the position and the search committee wishes to readvertise

Fill a Requisition

  • Log in to UTORecruit
  • Navigate to the requisition you wish to cancel
  • Click "More Actions"
  • Choose "Fill" from the drop-down menu

more actions Fill

  • Add comments in the Fill Requisition comments box (Best Practice: include name of candidate and start date)
  • Click Done

fill comment box

The requisition is marked as filled.  The status of the requistion is recorded in the History

fill position history

 

The requisition is now inactive and will not appear in your requisition list unless you check "Include inactive requisitions"

include inactive requisitions

Cancel a Requisition

  • Log in to UTORecruit
  • Navigate to the requisition you wish to cancel
  • Click "More Actions"
  • Choose "Cancel Requisition" from the drop-down menu

more actions cancel requisition

  • Add comments in the Cancel Requisition comments box
  • Click Done

cancel requisition box

The requisition is cancelled and will not appear in your requisition list unless you check "Include inactive requisitions"

include inactive requisitions

The cancelled status of the requisition appears in the History

cancel requisition in history